When Tomorrow Starts Without Me

  • When tomorrow starts without me, and I’m not there to see,
  • If the sun should rise and find your eyes,
    all filled with tears for me,
  • I wish so much you wouldn’t cry, the way you did today,
  • While thinking of the many things we didn’t get to say.
  • I know how much you love me, as much as I love you,
  • And each time that you think of me,
    I know you’ll miss me too.
  • But when tomorrow starts without me, please try to understand,
  • That an angel came and called my name and
    took me by the hand.
  • And said my place was ready in Heaven far above,
  • And that I’d have to leave behind, all those
    things I dearly love.
  • But as I turned to walk away, a tear fell from my eye,
  • For all my life, I’d always thought, I didn’t want to die.
  • I had so much to live for, so much yet to do,
  • It seemed almost impossible, that I was leaving you.
  • I thought of all the yesterdays, the good ones and the bad,
  • I thought of all the love we shared, and all the fun we had.
  • If I could relive yesterday, just even for a while,
  • I’d say goodbye and kiss you, and maybe
    see you smile.
  • But then I fully realized, that could never be,
  • For emptiness and memories, would take
    the place of me.
  • And when I thought of worldly things, I might
    miss come tomorrow,
  • I thought of you, and when I did, my heart was
    filled with sorrow.
  • But when I walked through Heaven’s gates,
    I felt so much at home.
  • When God looked down and smiled at me,
    from his great golden throne.
  • He said, “This is eternity, and all I’ve
    promised you.
  • Today your life on Earth is past, and
    here it starts anew”.
  • “I promise no tomorrow, but today will always last,
  • And since each day’s the same day, there’s
    no longing for the past”.
  • “But you have been so faithful, so trusting and so true,
  • Though there were times you did some things,
    you know you shouldn’t do”.
  • “But you have been forgiven, and now at
    last you’re free,
  • So won’t you take my hand now and share
    my life with me”.
  • So when tomorrow starts without me, don’t
    think we’re far apart,
  • For every time you think of me, I’m right here
    in your heart.

–by Erica Shea Liupaeter

 

Leave a Reply

